xbox-one-vs-ps4

At the moment I’ve reached the 20 hour mark of Final Fantasy XIII, a game that while admittedly I bought back in 2010, I have neglected to finish. So recently I decided to make it my goal to finish it at least once. If I can do that, it’ll be the first Final Fantasy game I’ve ever managed to finish (mind you, I have come pretty far in other FF games, it’s just sometimes I can take the whole ‘rage-quit’ thing a little seriously. Just ask the copy of Red dead Redemption sitting in pieces in the corner.) If I ever manage to finish it or not is another story – with the imminent release of Saints Row IV, GTA V in September, plus the upcoming Bioshock Infinite DLC, FFXIII may just be swept aside again unfortunately. However I do hope to finish both XIII and XIII-2 before the Feburary 2014 release of Lightning Returns.

ffxiii-lightning
I’m a little worried at what Lightning might do to me if I don’t finish her game soon….

The Final Fantasy saga isn’t an isolated case, of course. In my gaming collection, while being relatively small, I can think of a multitude of games off the top of my head that I have yet to finish, two of those I haven’t even started, due to the fact they’re games 3 & 4 in a four-part series (in case you’re interested, the games I’m referring to are the .hack series.) Half of those are on PS2, some are on the X360, lest not forget Zelda on the Wii, plus Persona 4 that I got when I bought the PS Vita last month.

Oh yeah, and I picked up a PS3 last week off Ebay for a bargain, which after a day trip to Gametraders in Parramatta revealed quite a few JRPG’s, Survival Horror titles and PS3 exclusives that look well worth adding to the ‘to play’ list (I took home a copy of ICO/Shadow of the Colossus by the way…) Plus the upcoming HD Remaster of both Final Fantasy X and X-2, Kingdom Hearts 1.5 remix (oh yeah, I wouldn’t mind picking up KH2 at some point. Man, I rented that when it first came out, it was fun, just neglected to pick up a copy…) A few other PS2 titles I’m eying off on ebay. And I wouldn’t mind checking out Earthbound after seeing it being played on Twitch TV a few weeks ago, for which I’ll need to pick up a Wii U. In retrospect, that’s quite a growing wish list of titles to date that I’m hoping to give a go at.

So with this ever-growing list, an anime-viewing habit I have at the same time, plus a little thing called life in between, one very relevant question comes up…

When in the hell am I ever going to find time for a next-gen console?

Of course I’ve been excited as the next gamer since the announcement of both PS4 and Xbox One earlier this year (personally I’m favoring the PS4 at the moment, lets leave that debate for another time though.) However, as time has passed, since the excitement and theatrics of Microsoft and Sony’s press conferences has had time to die down, I’ve taken a bit of a second look at what both systems have to offer upon launch.

Seeing as how I originally decided to go with the PS4, let’s take a look at the launch titles according to IGN (retail ones, not the ones available on the PSN;)

  • Assassins Creed IV
  • Battlefield 4
  • Call Of Duty: Ghosts
  • Driveclub
  • FIFA 14
  • Just Dance 2014
  • Killzone: Shadow Fall
  • Knack
  • Lego Marvel Super Heroes
  • Madden NFL 2014
  • NBA 2K14
  • NBA Live 14
  • Need For Speed: The Rivals
  • Skylanders
  • Watchdogs

I’ve put the ones I’m even remotely interested in playing in bold. So that’s 3 possible games. Being a stickler for playing things in order (I have a thing about following a story correctly – might be just me though) I probably wouldn’t touch ACIV until I’ve played the rest of them, of which I’ve gotten as far as ACII (call me the king of rage-quitting, ladies and gentlemen – I ran over that fucker in my car repeatedly GTA style.) So that leaves just two games on launch that I would consider. Of course, there was the announcement at E3 of both Final Fantasy XV and Kingdom Hearts 3, realistically though I think it’s safe to say we won’t see those titles until at least the end of 2014. With that in mind, and if nothing else came up on the PS4 that was any interest to me in that time, that’s 12 whole months of just 2 games.

sony-e3-presser-2

Personally, I can’t really justify spending 600+ bucks on something that, for me at least, won’t kick into full gear for another 12 months. Especially considering the multitude of games already released that are on my ‘to play’ list – some of those date back to the PS2 and SNES consoles. Had either Sony or Microsoft offered the option of backwards compatibility, maybe that would have justified an upgrade. Both companies I feel have shut themselves out of potential customers by not offering what should be a standard feature in this day and age.

Is it just me though? Am I getting a little greedy with my gaming? Could it be that my insatiable appetite for existing gems may just be blinding me to the shine and excitement that is a next-generation console?

Or is it just the fact that I don’t feel the need to follow the crowd, camping out at a midnight launch, hungry to have the latest tech gizmo. The one thing I ever bought on launch day was the Iphone 5 last year – and to be honest, that thing has given me nothing but grief since I got it.

So I’ve decided to wait. It’s not like the PS4 (or Xbox One, to be fair) will fail and disappear. In fact, I expect the first 12 months of both systems to be at least somewhat buggy. Plus the inevitable possibility of a price drop in both consoles will make the wait pay off a lot more.

Perhaps we should note of this video.

 

